The Glory Of Medieval Art


Medieval art was a subject that until recently, I knew really next to nothing.  I might have been able to identify the style, but I couldn’t have told anyone the names of artists, let alone the names of any famous pieces of art.  In the last couple of years, that’s changed.  Through literature I’ve read and exposure to various medieval works of art, I’ve gained a newfound appreciation for the time period.  This past weekend, I was at the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City, and spent most of my time in the Medieval section.  Below are a few images of works of medieval art that caught my eye.  On most of them, I’ve named the particular artist that created the work.  The ones that have no name are because the artist is unknown.  I love this art, and though the artists of the Renaissance period improved artistic technique in all areas, still, there’s something about the art of the Middle Ages that speaks much more strongly to me.

Scenes From The Life Of Cain

Saint James The Less, by Andrea Bregno

Virgin And Child

Saint Phillip, by Andrea Bregno

Virgin And Child

Saints George And Wolfgang, by Master of the Monis Altar

Madonna And Child by Francesco di Simone Ferrucci

The Last Judgment, by Lucas Cranach The Elder

The Madonna And Child With Saints, by Benedetto Buglioni

God the Father

The Crucifixion

The Adoration Of The Magi

The Nativity

7 thoughts on “The Glory Of Medieval Art

  1. Absolutely beautiful and they like to think that the medieval church was one of darkened and stultified sensibilities and intellect. Nothing could be further from the truth. This era gave us beautiful art and music as well as some very gifted saints.

    • And as I’ve come to learn lately (my knowledge of the medieval period was admittedly scant), the Middle Ages saw the invention of many new things. They were innovative and creative. The Renaissance, on the other hand, brought virtually nothing new to the table. All they did was rehash old stuff.

    • On these particular pieces of art, I really enjoy the sculptures of Saint Phillip and Saint James the Less. Both statues of the Madonna and child were beautiful. My favorite of the bunch was probably the Madonna and child with Saints. Which ones of these do you enjoy the most?

  2. I agree with all the ones you mentioned though there is something very touching in the interaction of the baby Jesus and the Blessed virgin in the piece Madonna And Child by Francesco di Simone Ferrucci. He has captured an intense bond that defies logic: far beyond and baby and mother who have bonded. There is a connectivity that is truly beautiful and supernatural in scope.

Leave a Reply

