Gettin’ Better All The Time


Recently, my photography skills have been improving.  I finally purchased a new and better camera with more capability than the one I’d been using for years, and right off the bat, I was was taking shots that had been out of my range previously.  But this week, I’m excited about some new skills I picked up, this time in the area of photo editing.  I’d used programs like Paint dot net in the past for minor things like cropping, or adding the sepia effect to some of my work, but nothing more involved than that.

Now, thanks to some handy tutorials posted by one of the more outstanding photographers I’ve seen on the Internet, Leanne Cole, I began using the GIMP photo editing software.  Not to brag, but I’ve been blown away at the results I’ve been able to achieve with GIMP.  But don’t take my word for it; check out the examples below.

First, here’s an untouched photo I took a few months ago:

Copyright: Stephen Ventura, October 2012

After pulling up the photo in GIMP, and working with the color levels and lighting and whatnot, here’s a more polished version:

Copyright: Stephen Ventura, October 2012

Then, just to see how it would turn out, I experimented with doing a black and white version of the image.  To be honest, I’m not sure which one I like the best.

Copyright: Stephen Ventura, October 2012

Which one do y’all like better, the color or the black and white?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Gettin’ Better All The Time

  1. Another vote for the black and white. For skies and portraits B&W does lend and air of mystery to the composition and makes them into something which tells a deeper story; revealing a hidden past or an ominous future.

    • Thanks. I’ve always enjoyed black and white photography, and like you said, it does add mystery to the scene, and a sense of drama.

      Growing up and to this day, I enjoy the work and skill of Ansel Adams. If I have any aspirations for my efforts, it’s to someday achieve the skill and mastery he had. Long ways to go for that!

      • Well V it is all about establishing a style that is all your own that deepens your vision within your whole body of work. Ansel Adams had that and so do the most successful artists of any genre. We all have seen paintings, photographs or musical compositions and been able to identify the artist immediately. At times it almost seems magical.

        • Yeah, very true. All the greats are like that. I don’t think one can consciously set out to achieve a style on purpose, though. I think style comes after years of dedication and work, of course, but ultimately because of great passion for a particular theme or subject, and ‘style’ develops on its own.

Leave a Reply

